2016 MLB Awards and Postseason Predictions

Awards Predictions

AL MVP: Mike Trout, Centerfielder, Los Angeles Angels

The best player in baseball will take a much-deserved MVP award, finishing in front of Manny Machado, Josh Donaldson, and Jose Abreu.

NL MVP: Giancarlo Stanton, Rightfielder, Miami Marlins

Stanton will lead the MLB in homers in a bounce-back campaign, though it does little to get the Marlins in the playoffs. Bryce Harper, Paul Goldschmidt, and Nolan Arenado are runners-up.

AL Cy Young: Chris Archer, Tampa Bay Rays

Chris Archer leads a stellar Tampa rotation to a playoff berth, finishing with the league lead in ERA.

NL Cy Young: Madison Bumgarner, San Francisco Giants

A World Series MVP, Mad Bum goes mad in the regular season, winning 20 games for the playoff-bound Giants. Jake Arrieta, Clayton Kershaw, and Jacob DeGrom aren’t far behind.

AL Manager of the Year: Terry Francona, Cleveland Indians

There is disappointment no more in Cleveland as the Indians take the division crown from Kansas City. Tampa’s Kevin Cash and Texas’ Jeff Bannister earn their teams playoff bids.

NL Manager of the Year: Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants

One of the best managers, if not the best, wins the honor as San Francisco wrestles the division away from Los Angeles. Dusty Baker works wonders with his new team, the Nats, and Joe Maddon’s Cubs separate themselves from the pack.

AL Rookie of the Year: Joey Gallo, Outfielder, Texas Rangers

The 3rd baseman-turned-outfielder blasts homers at an alarming rate, generating runs for the Rangers and taking the Home Run Derby title. Outfielder Byron Buxton contests Gallo for the honor.

NL Rookie of the Year: Corey Seager, Shortstop, Los Angeles Dodgers

The best rookie by far, Seager is going to make an immediate impact on the Dodgers and will be one of the reasons they’re in playoff contention.

AL Home Run Champion: Jose Abreu, Outfielder, Chicago White Sox

NL Home Run Champion: Giancarlo Stanton, Outfielder, Miami Marlins

AL Batting Champion: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

NL Batting Champion: Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks

AL ERA Champion: Chris Archer, Tampa Bay Rays

NL ERA Champion: Jacob DeGrom, New York Mets


Postseason Predictions

Wild Card Round

Astros over Royals, 6-4

Pirates over Cardinals, 4-1

Divisional Round

Rangers over Blue Jays, 3-0

Astros over Indians, 3-2

Giants over Nats, 3-2

Cubs over Pirates, 3-1


Astros over Rangers, 4-2


Cubs over Giants, 4-1

World Series

Chicago Cubs over Houston Astros, 4-0

world series

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s